MrbTV #1: Puttin’ on the Ritz

It’s time for the first edition of MrbTV, which will be a series of posts in which I review music videos.  So it’s like MTV, but with music videos.  Oh yeah, I went there.

I couldn’t think of any better place to start this series than with a true masterpiece of a video made by a guy named after Mexican food.  It’s Taco’s “Puttin’ on the Ritz” Excuse the visual quality, it’s a video from the 80’s that I ripped from Youtube.  Excuse the audio quality, it’s a song by a guy named Taco.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OG3PnQ3tgzY

Our video begins in some sort of back alley type place, frequented by homeless people and vagrants, judging by the several flaming barrels.

 

It looks like present day Detroit.

 

Within seconds, the star of the show arrives.  Ladies and gentleman, I give you Taco.

 

Shit is about to get ritzy.

 

Looking like The Joker’s effeminate Hispanic cousin, and carrying a large glowstick, he’s here to class up the joint.  That is apparently what puttin’ on the Ritz is all about.  He’s even brought with him some back up singers.

 

Nope, leaving that one alone.

 

Oh boy.  Nothing says classy like blackface.  Um…let’s quickly move on.

 

The money isn't working, try bullets!

 

Someone’s decided to make it rain on Taco, probably in an attempt to shower him with money until he stops singing.  Instead, the homeless people chase after the money.  When you take into consideration that Taco is Dutch, this becomes a damning social commentary on American consumerism.

It also reinforces his family ties with The Joker.

 

Fact: Dressing nicer does not make you a more effective panhandler.

 

Next, Taco displays how the money has apparently bought the homeless people some business attire.  He seems really proud of his handiwork, but I’m sorry, they’re still homeless.  Try harder Taco.

 

The answer is still no.

 

Oh god, here we go again.  This Taco apparently comes with a side order racism.  I’d prefer cinnamon twists.  I certainly hope this is the last we see of them.

Oh come on!  You added more!?  And you made them dance?  When did this seem like a good idea?  Something tells me Taco’s album sales struggled in urban districts.

 

You Raaa...cist?

 

Well look at that, Taco’s taught Lurch from The Addams Family to play the piano.  Good for him.  And now for no reason, two old guys, left out in the cold.  I guess this is what happens when you don’t put on the Ritz.

 

Could we just have some Ritz crackers to eat instead?

 

Here we see Taco asking: “R-I-T-Z, how about you and me?”  Is that before or after you kill me and wear my skin as a suit?

 

S-E-R-I-A-L-K-I-L-L-E-R

 

Our strange journey comes to an end with Taco repeatedly telling us he’s gotta dance.  He’s also gotta wear a cape.

 

I’m not going to lie, I might have lost track of plot of this video, but I think we can all agree that the moral is pretty obvious: Don’t do cocaine.  Also, if you’re blue and you don’t know where to go to…stay the hell away from guys named Taco.

 

Puttin’ on the Ritz is ultimately just a bastardized synthpop version of a song made famous by Fred Astaire.  Apparently the tap scene in the middle of the video is to honor Astaire.  I’m not sure what the people in blackface are meant to symbolize however.  Really, it’s a wonder Fred Astaire didn’t just kick Taco’s ass for this “tribute”.   I guess we have to settle for the fact that he fell off the face of the earth after unleashing this song on the world.  Let’s hope he stays there.

2 thoughts on “MrbTV #1: Puttin’ on the Ritz

  1. Pingback: Random Review: Wendy’s Hot Drinks « My Rotting Brain

Leave a Reply

