Queries From A Rotting Brain: Jason Alisharan Part 1

Well, this was supposed to part of the big finale of October’s Are You Afraid of the Dark review-fest, but it took a little longer than expected to put it together.  Now it’s occurred just in time for Christmas, it’s a Festivus miracle!

 

I tracked down Jason Alisharan, who played Midnight Society member Frank on Are You Afraid of the Dark?  He was gracious enough to answer my questions.  Unfortunately, I only had five.  But he said he’d be happy to answer more, so consider this part one of the interview.

 

 

My Rotting Brain: First of all, how’s life? What are you up to these days?

Jason Alisharan: Life is good. I haven’t been an actor for sometime. Have been working more behind the scenes. I spent three years in the live action division at DreamWorks here in LA, and worked on such films as Transformers, Collateral, Red Eye, Win a Date with Tad Hamilton and She’s the Man.  I most recently co-produced Tom Ford’s directorial debut, A Single Man, which starred Colin Firth, Julianne Moore and Matthew Goode. The film came out last year.

MRB:  Arguably your most famous role would be that of Frank, in the Nickelodeon show Are You Afraid of the Dark? Can you describe how you ended up landing the role?

JA: How I ended up landing the role? They were casting young actors in both the US and Canada for this new show, obviously not just the Midnight Society but all of the guest starring roles. I auditioned in Vancouver and then think I got called back a second time and later submitted tape. Then they told me I was playing Frank, and two weeks later I got on a plane to start shooting in Montreal.

MRB: Your role in series was sort of unique to a television show, as you only appeared at the beginning and end of each episode. Can you describe what filming a typical episode was like? If it were an episode where Frank was telling a story, how much of the actual story were you made aware of?

JA: The filming process? Per the filming schedule, we shot all of the Midnight Society opening and closings for an entire season at once. I think it amounted to a couple months worth of work (at different times) each year. They would send us the entire script for all of the season’s episodes (or at least the ones they had written at that point) so if your character was telling the story, you’d obviously read that episode to know what happened. Because I was interested, I’d read most the scripts, but never really had to worry about the actual stories as I was rarely telling, and was more just messing around the campfire.

MRB: Do you have a favorite episode?

JA: Don’t know if I have one. Really liked the Tale of the Shiny Red Bicycle. I think not just because it was scary but also pretty emotional as this guy tries to get over the death of his best friend. Also really liked Midnight Madness, and the two Cutter’s Treasure episodes which featured both Vink and Sardo. Also have a personal affinity for the Quicksilver as it featured by brother Kyle in a guest starring role.

MRB: Do you keep in contact with any members of the cast?

JA: I’ve seen Rachel Blanchard and Joanna Garcia from time to time. The rest not as much though sometimes we reconnect on Facebook. Was happy to hear that Jacob Tierney became a pretty successful Canadian director. That’s about it.

 

 
Alright, so my interviewing skills need work.  I’ll be working diligently to come up with a better set of questions, and if you have any questions you’d like to ask, leave them as a comment on this article and I’ll send them along.

5 thoughts on “Queries From A Rotting Brain: Jason Alisharan Part 1

  1. Pingback: Review By Request: The Tale of the Dollmaker « My Rotting Brain

  2. Pingback: Are You Afraid of the Dark Review: The Tale of the Quicksilver « My Rotting Brain

  3. Pingback: Then + Now: The Cast of 'Are You Afraid Of The Dark?'

Leave a Reply

